“Berliner”

I was thinking I would be back at work today. But my whatever it is I’ve got has had other ideas. Frustrated, in a sniffy, coughy, very drowsy way.

Up for breakfast before midday, and out briefly to the local shop for bread, more lemsip, and a paper.

I used to buy a paper every day. But I now get the download version (which I don’t read every day).

This is the last week that The Guardian will be printed in it’s current “Berliner” format. The Guardian is selling off its printing presses and outsourcing printing to the Trinity Mirror Group. From next week it goes tabloid. This saves a lot of money at a time when Facebook and Google are hoovering up much of the on-line advertising. The Scott Trust, which owns the Guardian, wants money to be focussed on the journalism. Which has to be a good thing. It will be interesting to see what a tabloid Guardian and Observer look like, quite a good design challenge for someone. I hope it succeeds, in this era of “fake news” we really need good journalism.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.