Wansfell Pike

I've been reluctant to travel far in recent times. I've declined lots of invitations to go visit people. This year, I'm determined to make amends for that and travelled to visit an old friend who now lives in the Lakes. The forecast of three days of wall to wall sunshine certainly helped to persuade the case!

Wansfell Pike is one of the very most accessible of all Lakeland summits, which is why I have probably not been up here in at least thirty years, the lure of the high fells always being too strong. I must have been over Ill Bell (the snow-covered one) at least a dozen times in the same period. It was good to be reminded that the lower fells have a very special charm.

PS I managed to forget my camera. Coping with a borrowed one was not easy. It felt like my hand had been amputated and I was trying to use a prosthetic one!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.