lovelife209

By mindful_life

Wide Wednesday - let the fire burn

When I arrive at work in the morning I always look at the quote on my desk calendar and decided whether it is something that I will use in my Blip. Today is the first day in the year that Decided j would because it reminded me very much of the talks I have listened to from Alan Watts.

The quote on my calendar is: “The truth is that you already are what you are seeking.”

Alan Watts gave a speech about self improvement and that we should stop trying to improve ourselves. The problem with improving ourselves is that the person who has to do the self improvement is the one who needs improving. He questions what would happen if we accept that we cannot improve ourselves. We are what we are. And what happens is that we relieve ourselves of that burden and actually focus our energy on things we like and are within us naturally and that nature takes care of itself. You can’t teach a genius to be one nor understand how they come to it - they just are.

I guess this is what I am trying to do in terms of accepting myself for who I am and not worrying what people think. By adding this other dimension perhaps I will relax also and let nature take its course.

My photograph is a candle... it is just that. A candle but I played with the colours and thought it looked like a glowing fire. Fire burns inside all of us, we just have to let it grow and stop trying to change it x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.