Celebrating Charlotte

"You have been my friend. That in itself is a tremendous thing. I wove my webs for you because I liked you. After all, what's a life, anyway? We're born, we live a little while, we die. A spider's life can't help being something of a mess, with all this trapping and eating flies. By helping you, perhaps I was trying to lift up my life a trifle. Heaven knows anyone's life can stand a little of that."
~ E.B. White, Charlotte's Web


I believe that this is an Eastern Harvestman, a relative of the spider, but it is darker that the ones I'm used to. No other spiders would volunteer to pose, the wind kept them tucked away.

One of my favorite books from childhood turns 60 today... Charlotte's Web

For the Record,
This day came in warm and balmy with a persistent wind. The sunrise was lovely followed by a morning bathed in sun. It actually looks like showers now, but it's still warm.Raspberry is having fun watching swirling and snagged fluttering leaves.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.