Fruit Tower

We, ie Len, Basil and me, went to visit Clive and Elaine in Uppingham today to give them their Christmas present, a framed photo of their beautiful garden taken in the summer.

The fire was roaring in the winter lounge which made it very cosy.

Clive manfully sat through my demonstrations of my three books. He had set up the Geological Survey of Hong Kong so was interested particularly in the Hong Kong book. As far as I can tell, not too much has changed obviously in Kowloon since he was there in the 1980s. He brought out the most recent geological memoirs of the territories published then and the original work published by OGS back in 1971. It has a useful summary geological map which I can relate to the places I visited.

Then I revealed Venice. Elaine had already flicked through and left before we got to Morocco. She went shopping and didn't return before we left. She did say Goodbye though. I expect she went to see someone who was more sympathetic to her concerns.

I also secured a copy of Clive's report on the progress of the Geological Survey of Botswana which he wrote while he was Director just before he left for UK. I'm going to read the section on the geomagnetic survey of the country with interest.

This photo was a last minute idea, and it shows. It was far too wet underfoot to venture into the garden, so I chose to do a multi exposure on this ceramic fruit tower in the hall.

Putting it up on the computer shows that I should have taken much more care about placing the lead fruit between shots. I also had to use a high ISO because it was dark.

Extremely foggy this morning from east of Leicester along the A47 to Rutland. It had lifted somewhat by this afternoon, but not that much. We dared to come back via Queniborough. The roads are so dark in this weather.

Tennis club committee dinner this evening. I'm told the restaurant can cater for gluten free. I expect lots of vegetables and rice.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.