snailspace

By snailspace

Stating the obvious

These plant are popping up all around us. We have been seeing them on he Portuguese woodland amp sites and they are everywhere in the forest here. I have a feeling that I should know what they are, that I have seen them in British gardens... yet I cannot bring it to  the forefront of my mind just now.

I took this photograph to upload to Google Image Search expecting to find a match that would ID the plants for me. 

Google told me that its best guess was "flower"

Well, blow me down, I would never have guessed.

Due to my paddy with Blipfoto, I cannot post extra images. I have one of last years inflorescence - tall single stem, bell-shaped flowers. This specimen is about a foot high just now. I feel that the twisting of the strong dark green leaves ought to be the giveaway.

Any ideas?

We ate (I hesitate to say dined) at the on-site restaurant this evening. It was a step change from last week and actually reached the level of acceptable. There remains hope  :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.