Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Tiny discos

Another dark and dank day, but after spending most of the day at the computer, I forced myself out for a walk round Thorpe Wood. It was quite hard to spot anything in the low light, but I found these tiny fungi on a lump of decaying wood, each one only a couple of millimetres across. I think they're a species of Lachnum. I photographed Snowy Disco Lachnum virgineum in the wood  a couple of years ago, but these are much creamier in colour. I found an online key but it sounds as though examination of the spores is necessary to get an identification!

In the evening it was the first 2018 meeting of the Peterborough Group of the BCN Wildlife Trust. I'd thought we might have a fairly low turnout thanks to the flu which is circulating, but most of the chairs were filled for our Brownfield talk. Our enthusiasm for the subject meant that we really talked for too long, but it was followed by a very lively question time and I almost had to throw everyone out at the end! A good evening all round.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.