Money's Worth

We orienteered in the Rivelin Valley west of Sheffield this morning and you could say I got my money's worth!  I'd been having a catch up with Lynden, who was volunteering on the start, so my head was elsewhere when I set off.  Control no.1 was okay but then I chose a route to number 2 which involved sliding down a very steep hillside through brambles and low level holly bushes into a steep sided stream then, once across, having to reverse the process going uphill!  What took Tony 3.31 minutes took me 11.53 and set the tone for the remainder of my course!  It wasn't till I arrived to see Marcia helping at the finish that I remembered the last time we had orienteered here, they were busy rolling in the finish tape by the time I appeared over the hill!  106 minutes for 4k, shocking!

Late News:  Tony has just checked the final results and apparently two folks took longer than me, one person being out for 131 minutes!  Not last then, at least, ha hah!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.