Koniks In The Bulrushes*

Panshanger Park is walkies central on a Sunday. I met so many lovely dogs.

I took the above image soon after I arrived as I like that the Konik horses are similar in colour to the bulrushes*. The extra image was taken by Osprey Lake just before I left, the characteristic primitive dorsal stripe can be seen. A man told me that his dog loves one of the horses and that the pair exchange licks every time he visits. I've seen these hardy Polish horses at other nature reserves but this is the first time at Panshanger. They manage wetlands by eating reeds, sedges and rushes which improves the habitat for many species.

*We call these plants bulrushes but that is actually a different plant. Reedmace is the correct common name for Typha latifolia.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.