CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

A Hellebore flower, aka Christmas or Lenten Rose

On our return from the doctor's surgery, where H. received relatively good news and prognosis about her cough, Helena pointed out the very wet Hellebore flowers which seem to have just opened. The rain stopped and so I nipped out to the front garden for a colourful blip.

I hate the dull grey winter days after a while, and notice myself looking about me for bright colours.  The hellebore seems to be nature's way of providing for that need. It always amazes me that this period of growth and preparation for propagation can occur at the coldest time of the year when the light is nearly at its darkest too.

I may well be back to take variations on a theme over the next few weeks, or at least until the next flowers indicating the imminence of spring start to cheer me up as well.

I'm not sure which particular hellebore species this is. I think I was given a small plant soon after we moved into this house back in 2004.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.