Spring Flowers at the river

I think the river has become my new playground, another visit today with many photos taken, all blipworthy.

Dotted along the river are the yellow and white flowers from the shrubs of broom. Although its classed as an invasive plant in New Zealand it has its uses for stablising sand dunes and looks great with the mountains of the Puketeraki Range behind them.

I was fortunate enough to see Pied Stilts feeding in the river, a Banded Dotterel hopping round amongst the riverstones and a Wrybill landed just a short distance from me. There are signs up saying the birds are nesting in the middle section of the riverbed, really hoping the weather is good from now on, no more floods as these wee birds have had  a rough time of late with unexpected floods wiping out nesting areas.

Not quite the bright blue sky from my last visit, really enjoyed the sounds of the river today, a lot calmer and seemed more at peace. I must've been a while as Hubby texted me to see if I was okay :)

Best fly now, as I still have many jobs to be done - bbq tea tonight, a lovely spring evening.

This one might be better in large.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.