Standing Room Only

After a morning of papers and square sausage, it was up to Ainslie Park Stadium to see Edinburgh City FC entertain table topping Montrose. And to catch up with Cigs and the ciglettes. A bit of a large crowd too, no doubt boosted by offering Hearts & Hibs fans half price admission (it being winter shutdown y’see). As an over 60, I got in for half price anyway. Some very dubious refereeing resulted in Montrose running out two-nil winners. Very. Dubious.
Afterwards up to Tollcross for a swiftie in Bennets and who came in but Owen Jones. Standing by the door, I may have nodded to him as he came in (the SK insists I said hello). It’s only now, two days later, that I’ve read his Dad had died up in Edinburgh that very morning.
Over the road to see Three Billboards at the Cameo - quite excellent, and not at all the story I expected. And with an emotional punch when I least expected it.
And finally to Trenchtown for a bit of Caribbean nosh; we’ll definitely be back, though I doubt the SK will order the goat curry next time. As she said, she should have known better than choosing anything to do with old goats again. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.