Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

The Walk That Never Was

I was due to lead a Ramblers walk today (I mentioned it last week). However, the weather conditions weren't great this morning and I told everyone who sent me a text or phoned me to take the conditions into consideration when deciding whether or not to travel. Given that it was snowing heavily I did not expect anyone to turn up. In truth I was also hoping no-one would turn up!

In the event, two other people did appear at the almost otherwise-deserted, and snow-bound, car park at the start of the walk. We decided to give it a go, and see how we got on. The scheduled walk was only to be 7km (4.5 miles). But these skies looked ominously grey! (see photo).

Before long it was snowing heavily, but there was no great wind to speak of and the underfoot conditions weren't too bad. We did a shortened version of the walk, got very wet with snow at some points, but returned to the car park a couple of hours later with a certain sense of achievement. Not sure I would have done the walk should I have had a group to lead - it's slightly different when there are only three of us - but we made it round OK.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.