Norwich city wall....plus Carol and I

In view of the fact that Norwich has beautiful crisp but dry weather today, we decided to do our lunchtime walk. Tomorrow the forecast is poor.

From the office we walked up Pottergate to the end to Grapes Hill. We turned left and walked alongside the main road past the Catholic cathedral to the roundabout. There we crossed to Chapelfield gardens and went through the gardens and along Chapel Field Rd behind the shopping centre. We had to cross over to the other side of the road as there wasn't a path. All along this side is a long stretch of the city wall which is well preserved. On the bus home I Googled the walls to find out a bit more. Sadly a lot of the wall - well most - no longer exists, but there are photos of some parts which are pre war and show some bits no longer there. Building of the wall started in 1294 and finished about 1350. There are no gates now in existence as they were mostly removed in the 1700s to ease access to the city. I read that the wall never actually proved to be a very good defence against invasion, but was useful for keeping out thongs like the plague!! A beautiful building called The Drill Hall was demolished in 1963 to make way for the ring road. It incorporated a corner tower from what I can make out. There are some stones/large pebbles set into the grass to define where it was, at the top of Grapes Hill. Something for me to go looking for.

We did 1.72 miles in out 30 minute brisk walk. We may go again this week if we are both free.

I left at 4.25. Wanting an earlier night. Work is busy. Nothing planned for the evening, but I've got my pjs on already. TV I think!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.