Norwegian snow

I wonder if the snow loves the trees and fields, that it kisses them so gently? And then it covers them up snug, you know, with a white quilt; and perhaps it says, "Go to sleep, darlings, till the summer comes again.”

The day starts at the dentist. He sees me early and rebuilds the traditional molar with amalgam. No anaesthetic necessary.

A tram takes me to the airport. I acquire Sominex for Rob and Cocodomol for me (just in case the tooth begins to misbehave).

In Oslo I wait for Rob to collect me from the airport. There are banks of snow ploughs and flingers keeping the runways clear, but the roads are a nightmare - hence the delay.

Rob, Mike, and I make the journey to Lillehammer in the Tesla. For some of the way the computer believes that it can drive the car, but we’re soon disabused of that notion and take back control.

We collect Austin from the train station and head up into the hills to find our “cabin”. The roads are mad. In the uk they would have all shut hours ago and there would be whining motorists on every news channel.

We find the cabin, but there’s no way the car will make the last 50m. Mike becomes semi-submerged in deep, fresh, powdery snow. Inside we warm up, snack on cheese and olives and light the fire.

Tomorrow we will work, but tonight I need to sleep.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.