Return of the sun

The forecast was right for once and, after what's felt like a grey and gloomy eon, the sun appeared. I abandoned the computer and headed to Ring Haw NR, which was blissfully deserted. I'd originally planned to go to Ferry meadows, but virtually all he parking places were full - I think all the dog-walkers in the world were out enjoying the rays.

I spent some time communing with a friendly flock of sheep, which is used to keep the grassland in good shape. There were a whole range of hardy breeds - Manx Loughtan, Welsh Mountain, Hebridean and Herdwick, as well as a few I wasn't sure about. 

It was pretty chilly out but there were definitely more signs of spring - the jewel-like female flowers of hazel, the first blooms of the stinking hellebore (see extras) and a pair of courting red kites, one of whom was carrying an extremely small stick. Just practicing?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.