A promise

We met September 5th, 1975 at a college in the town we now live in.  I was from Vancouver, BC on the West Coast and he was from Debert, Nova Scotia on the East Coast.  It was the mischievous sparkle in his eye that caught my attention as well as his good looks and happy disposition.  We began dating almost immediately and as a Christmas gift 4 months later, I received this beautiful little locket with the teeniest tiniest diamond chip embedded into it.  It didn’t matter to me what size the diamond was only that it signified a pledge of his love to me.  February 14th we became engaged (while at college) and we got married on July 17th just 10 months after we met.  (And just in case you were wondering, no, I wasn’t pregnant.)  We were young (19 & 20) in love, had stars in our eyes and dreams for our future together.  Many many stories and years later, we are still here together and will have been married 42 years this July.  I can assure you we have weathered many a storm and some dark valleys, but also attained many amazing mountain top experiences.  

As I thought about the Tiny Tuesday challenge today, I went digging through my jewelry box and found this little treasure.  Memories came flooding in and along with them one of which is a photo shoot we had within the first few weeks of our relationship.  See extra. ;)  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.