Leiflife

By Leiflife

Being with Lumen

I am awake alone as the midnight hour slips toward one. I woke nauseous, feeling a little anxious, and rose to take a Pepcid and nibble some crackers. The temperature was plummeting once again, and a sound like a myriad of tiny bells was ringing, ringing against the tin roof. Snow! 

I walked to the end of the studio and watched the flakes waft this way and that: a rain of glittering whiteness making magic against the dark night...and collecting on the deck. Snow in Mississippi, blip friends. A most unusual happening... Lumen is sleeping. What will his puppy feet make of the frozen stuff in his lovely yard. Maybe it will stay. A hard freeze is predicted. I hope it doesn't turn to ice.

In this photo you see Lumen looking at something with a fierce focus as though to understand. He is sitting in a shelf-like place at the base of an oak. It has become his favorite place in the yard. Almost a throne, but he can lie down and peer out from the knobbly wood. He can also crunch up leaves. He hordes things in his little cubby: leaves, sticks, and a treasured gum ball from a sweet gum tree. It is half eaten now. 

Lumen continues to enchant me, though he challenges me just as much. He is terribly smart, learning so quickly that I doubt my capacity to do him justice. He sits for treats, and yesterday he learned to walk on the leash. He wants my whole attention much of the time, but he does play fiercely alone. Oh... Did I tell you he has climbed the stairs. This dog is very, very small. And intense! Thank Heaven he takes nice long naps, and sleeps all night most nights.

It is time for me to see if I can sleep through what is left of this strange night of snow and wakefulness. Yes, it is still snowing in Mississippi!

Extras of Lumen... I think the exposure on these is a little better. White furr is pretty challenging.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.