nonsenses & truths

By sloeburn

Biscuits

Some late christmas biscuits from one of the students, because I was away when everyone else had some.  Very thoughtful.  They have got lots of spices in and the chocolate bits are full of cocoa, so they are very tasty.

My 'new' (refurbished) lab is looking, well, almost like a lab rather than a collections of boxes and rubbish.  There is still a good deal of rubbish.  We also have a few old bits of kit that, while operational themselves, require computers running Windows XP which our IT department won't support.  So they will probably be headed for the skip too.  Also a number of things that had been in cupboards for years which I am struggling to identify.  Academics are notorious hoarders.

This afternoon I delivered an unopened box of conical flasks (also found in a cupboard) to a colleague in another building, partly to get out of mine, especially my office which has no windows (funny how those of us towards the bottom of the pile get those offices). It's actually where I used to work and he's doing my previous job (poor sod), and I do miss being at the top of the building with views in almost all directions.  While I was there I managed to steal another comrade, who I used to work closely with, away for a coffee which turned into a brain dump/whinge for both of us and before I knew it it had gone 4 pm and my afternoon had disappeared.  She's probably the only 'work friend' I have at the moment, the two others having escaped.  I have many nice colleagues but very few who I feel to be on the same wavelength.  It's a bit like having an office with no windows.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.