Mrs Happy

By Riwaka7

All aglow at the fun-guy's house

I was in the mood to try Mark Hediger’s Experimental Photography to do with using light to make something magical, mystical, whatever you liked.
I have always thought it would be nice to live at the fun guy’s house so when I saw a group of them under a bush by an old stump in my own garden I assembled the necessary tools. A towel to lie on the wet lawn after 90mm rain, a bean bag to rest camera on , set camera with low exposure and the timer, light of some sort-you know we didn’t have anything except a big torch and an emergency wind up torch, neither of which I fancied. So I found a candle, matches and although some wind it wasn’t too bad under the bush. I had no fear it would set anything else on fire as so wet now.
So that is how I spent half an hour today. A more conventional image using flash and a couple where it looked as if the mushroom house was on fire. All better in large.
What I learned was that fungi are very dense and the glow I thought would come through the gills didn’t. These didn’t burn but one went black and didn’t smell like mushrooms but wet wool smouldering.

NB I have changed the photo. I didn't want the fungi at the front to look so obvious and once on Blipfoto it seemed to loom large and look lighter so went and lowered the gamma twice and I am happier. Still best in large.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.