fs2012

By FrankS

Coffee and Food

I know sometimes I sound obsessive about coffee, but I guess it is a large part of my retired life. After all as the old Dutch Proverb says - "Coffee has two virtues: it is wet and warm".

So we went for a late morning coffee only to find that our first choice Nero was packed with 'ladies who lunch' and Costa wasn't much better. So we had to resort to one of our standbys, Starbucks. Now I wouldn't normally ever go in Starbucks, unless I'm at the Bristol Service Station on the M5, as I believe it is one of the unacceptable faces of capitalism, along with MacDonald's and Barclays Bank.

But then, needs must and I suspect Nero exploits the poor of emerging economy countries as well.

We managed to get a window seat, and then I saw the outside sign featured as today's picture. That really did it for me as far as Starbucks is concerned. Not only are they taking over the world along with Apple and Google, but they are pushing their American traditions on a poor unsuspecting British public. Pumpkin Spice Latte!

I assume this is connected to the ancient US habit of parents dressing their kids up in ridiculous outfits and letting them roam the streets, knocking on stranger's front doors demanding sweets. We were always brought up never to take sweets from strangers, stealing them from Woolworth's Pick n' Mix instead.

Halloween - bah humbug! We believe in true British traditions, such as lighting huge fires and burning effigies whilst setting light to explosive material that shoots off in any random direction it feels like.

I go with the Dutch proverb; I like my coffee strong, black, warm and wet (commonly known as Americano....ahem)

In other news, Emma is coming for tea this evening so I have made a Leek, Asparagus & Feta Frittata, one of our favourites. I've already featured this famous dish of mine on Blipfoto some time back, so I won't bore you with another showing. Actually checking back it looks like that one was a Mixed Mushroom Frittata, so different ingredients, but hopefully just as yummy

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.