Arkensiel Photography

By arkensielphoto

European Grey Squirrel

I spent most of the morning sorting out the cupboard under the stairs, which is used as a larder and is also where some of my wine is stored. I was brought up to keep a good stock of provisions as where I was born and lived for many years, it was possible that the lane I lived in would be cut-off by snow. Three days was the longest we could not get out except by walking through a path specially made through shoulder height snow by one of the farmers. It is flat in The Fens and when the wind blows, huge drifts form across the lane. Not a lot of good going to the village shop as it would have sold out. So keeping a good stock of food means that I need to rotate it now and again and this is what I did this morning.
 
We had some high winds during the night, but fortunately no damage. The wheelie bin had been blown over, one of the chairs on the balcony was on its side and two pieces of newspaper, todays, were in the garden. All around there were trees down and out Internet was very slow.
 
Today’s picture is of a squirrel, having eaten all the food on the bird tables and feeders this one, of the three in the garden, decided to eat some of the berries still left on the hawthorn hedge. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.