Weather!

This time strong gales, apparently 80 miles an hour driving across our side of the country. Our power went off at 6.20am just as I was about to get up. I made my way downstairs to find my head torch. Jon was sitting in darkness eating his breakfast. He had got up at 6 so had a bit of light, but there was not enough time for our kettle to boil, so no tea. I got a candle and lit it plus two others in my lounge, then took the candle back upstairs. Washed, dressed and did my makeup using the candle and my head torch. It is NOT possible to apply makeup with a head torch on I discovered, but the candle was good, although I didn't know what colour eye liner I had put on until I got to work!!

Woke Henry who also muddled through in the dark. We don't have any gas so are limited. Jon did manage to get one camping Gaz light out of the garage loft, but it really was pitch black. We take our access to electricity for granted, and forget how it controls everything in our lives now- no WiFi, phones (my landline old fashioned phone did work, but not the mobile ones that plug in) or heating for the bearded dragons vivarium. I thought my first hour was challenging, but once in my car little did I know it was going to get a whole lot worse!

To cut a 2+ hour journey down I won't bore you, but Alby had a big tree blocking our way, then once past that I did a big circuit to avoid 2 other trees down on my route. I scraped in to work at 9.25 (the latest our flexi time allows us to be is 9.30 and I'm normally in about 8). Others had also had similar problems, West and South of Norwich so it was all round.

Work wasn't even stressful which is unusual considering I was so late. But I'm in control of my work at the moment so all is good. Spent my lunch break in the vintage charity shop but didn't buy the giant doll that I really liked. She was only £5. I get paid tomorrow. I might go back. Oh. But I don't need her and what will Jon say? Hmmm

Left at 4.15. It was almost still daylight when I left, but not when I got back. Our electricity came back on at about 11. The Dragon is still alive and Mollie was relieved. She spent the first 2 hours of her day reading a book! Fancy that- reading a book.

Thinking of our family. Make the most of every day x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.