The View from Wilford Hill

It was Mum's funeral today. The day started fine but heavy showers gathered in the afternoon. The northwest wind was bitter.

This is the view from Nottingham South Cemetery just outside Wilford Hill crematorium.

It was much more of an emotionally draining day than I had anticipated. Len drove us there. My Uncle David had just arrived, thanks to transport from his stepson Sean. My brother David, Wayne and Mandy had arrived plus two friends. Four supporters came from East Leake Amateur Players.

Then George, Kat and William arrived. William was super well behaved the whole afternoon. And Rosie. A friend had brought her from East Midlands Airport. She spoke to everyone except me.

The chapel was bare, the vicar inspiring. We sang, 'I vow to thee my country,' which was the RAF hymn. The eulogy acknowledged that Ruth had never got over the death of Percy in 2004. The order of service displayed a photo of Ruth and Percy on their wedding day. Uncle David, who was sitting next to me, said he remembered the day. He had been quite young then. They had all played games on the front lawn at Bridge Farm in Ixworth, which had been Mum's childhood home.

As everyone filed out, my brother David acknowledged everyone, shaking their hands. When it came to my turn, I broke down in tears. Rosie would have accused me of being dramatic, but it was a release. We stood and hugged. He asked me how I was. You have to know that there has been some history between him and me. But the death of both our parents now has united us in some way. It's shared history and experience.

I asked the vicar if he did christenings, as he was surely the kind of vicar I would choose to baptise William.

Then all the family moved off and went back to Mum's, now David's house, in East Leake for tea and sandwiches. Mandy did a sterling job with the teapot. Bless.

It was an opportunity for a good old chinwag.

I said Bye twice to Rosie, she ignored me. Len prompted her, and she just said No and stalked off to her friend's car.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.