I am grateful for ...

By shirleyray

Not What I Wanted to Hear

On Jan. 2, I was diagnosed with breast cancer, I saw the surgeon on the 10th, had my lumpectomy on the 16th and was back today to have the apparatus inserted by the surgeon for the targeted radiation, that would have been finished on the 26th. 

The good news is the lymph nodes are clear, so it hasn't traveled outside the breast. The not so good news, was two of the six margins were not clear, so we have to go back on the 30th to get those cleared. 

I will still be able to have the targeted radiation starting on the 12th and ending on the 16th. It is internal, done twice a day for five days and then I am finished.

The pain medication has been upsetting my stomach, so that is the reason for some of my blips lately. Not quite up to my usual standards, but I know you will forgive me!

I am grateful for all the support I have had from friends and family. I am especially grateful for how quickly this has all gone. So unlike what I went through last year! 

Once again, I am in great hands. The surgeries are at the same hospital as last year and my new doctor did her residency with the doctor that finally did my surgery in June. How is that for some good signs?? Also my doctor's name........Dr. Spotts....and she will take care of mine!!

I am quite optimistic that this was caught early, it will soon be behind me and I will once again be looking forward to a healthy rest of the year!

Ladies.....get your mammograms done! There is no cancer in my family, so you never know. Early detection is so important.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.