Pictures by Ahti's dad

By hevosmies

Almost got injured while blipping

First: Yes, I know I have a very stupid look on my face in this photo:)

After work, dinner, and Chimay Red(which tasted excellent) I walked through forest towards the hill nearby as I've done many times before. Now the winter's back and here's over 20 cm of snow.

Because it was covered with snow I didn't see a stump of a tree and tripped. My camera hit the ground and lens hood was removed. Luckily the ground was soft of snow so camera was fine (and me too), just snowy.

A couple of minutes later I experimented with long exposure times combined with use of flash to capture movement. When the flash was about to flash I jumped into air (with my legs spread wide) to see how well the flash manages to capture the movement.

I didn't know that under snow was ice! As I landed I almost performed split unintentionally in fraction of a second. Luckily I managed to lean forward before i stretched all the way down. I definitely can't stretch like that so I would just have got injured. I can just imagine how painful it would have been. So I cleared the situation, just got frightened, thinking of how painfully the photographing session could've ended.

I climbed the hill but went to different, lower location than usually. There were a couple of clouds but the sky was quite bright so I started shooting sky. Pics looked interesting because of movement of clouds with long exposure. As I gazed the stars I started thinking about universe and felt myself very small.

I shot other good pics also but I can blip similar pics on any day when there's snow on the ground and bright sky. But I'm definitely not gonna jump like that on icy path again:)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.