Life in Canada

By MissMacPic

A Bird Day

Blipping this Dark Eyed Junco is not indicative of the day it was for me with the birds!  I spent four hours walking around this morning.  Woods, meadow and lake front.  When I first arrived at my favourite spot, I saw a large group of 20 to 25 photographers armed with huge lenses.  I could not resist taking a quick photo of one man (I know, he is rather difficult to see...) as he headed down one of the trails.  I wish he turned around so you could see the massive lens!  Honestly, it was larger than two of my thighs put together.  I don't imagine he went far.... ; )

I decided to head out in the opposite direction as I don't care for large groups of people when I am trying to photograph a variety of wildlife.  When I stepped into the woods, I was surprised to see 11 deer curled up still sleeping (see extra).  I quietly exited and decided to head for the lake front instead.  Some nice surprises:  two Red Tailed Hawks in a tree; immature Bald Eagle circling; a Northern Shrike; and, two Long Tailed Ducks.  I did get photos of them all but they were not very sharp as from a distance.  Ahhhh, but to have one of those mega lenses  ; )

An afternoon spent with my daughter and now trying to get caught up on blip before heading to bed.

Take care...
D x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.