Saturday Self-portrait

Making plans for making tracks.

The day presented itself a bit warmer and got my Saturday Selfie ideas and wanderlust juices flowing.  This is the first year in many that I don’t have my travel wish list mapped out.  For some reason numerous plans we’d started making just weren’t working out.  So, I wait.  

I do have a couple of exciting hikes on the back burner though.  The first taking place mid July, is an empowering all ladies hike called ‘Operation Little Black Dress’.  Six years ago a local gal had a vision to raise funds for the Search & Rescue Team and hike the steep and challenging Stawamus Chief mountain.  Upon reaching the top, all the ladies (ranging in age from 20-73) change into little black dresses and heels and raise a champagne toast.  Although I’ve hiked this mountain before, this’ll be my first time joining upwards of 60 ladies.

The second hike that is in the works is a 7 day guided backpacking trip mid August following the 160 year old Hudsons Bay Company fur brigade trail.  It is a wilderness trail that spans 74 km from Hope to Tulameen crossing the Cascade Mountains.  BC historian Harley Hatfield once said, “History should be learned through the soles of our feet.”  I couldn’t agree more.  

Along the trail, our guides will be sharing stories of people and events that reveal the vibrant life of this historic route.  Let me quickly add, that the only way I could even consider doing this backpacking trek without my strong man, is because the company that is guiding us takes the bulk of our stuff (tent, sleeping bags, food, etc.) and transports it to our end day stop.  We just need to carry a day pack.  Phew.  Needless to say I’m somewhat nervous yet really excited.  So training and health dependent, I’m hoping to tackle this.  

I’ve also been thinking of getting a more compact camera (thinking point & shoot?) as my big camera is just too big and heavy to take hiking.  Any recommendations for me?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.