1 K to Go

Let me tell you about today's race.  The kayaks left the shores of the lake at 6 a.m., then headed around Eely Point to the start of the Clutha River.  They kayaked down the river, through Albert Town to Oxbow, a distance of 20 km.

From Oxbow, (after a clay-bird shoot exercise,) they transition to a mountain bike, and climb up the Pisa Ranga via Criffel Station.  From there they followed the tracks to the bottom of the Cardrona Valley floor.  (28 k's).

The last leg of the day saw the teams run the Wanaka Skyline Track.  They were expected to run it in just over 3 hours.  (I walked it a few years ago, it took me 11 1/2 hrs!!!)  28 k's

This blip photo shows one of the teams with just 1 k to go, after this gruelling race.

Extra 1 The first 2 competitors run along the lake to the finish line.  Extra 2, is a well known NZ sportsman with his team mate.  They look pretty tired!  Extra 3 is a team crossing the finish line.  Extra 4 is a photo that I took of the tree in the lake while waiting for the runners to pass by. 

Extra No 5 is of the church flowers.  The hymn for today was 'Be Thou my vision.'

It is very very hot, so I am going to put on my air con, and chill out for a bit.  +30C

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.