Rainbow Springs, headwater.

   The girls and I went to Rainbow Springs today for a hike.   The first thing I saw was the headwaters of Rainbow Stream.  It was absolutely beautiful in today's bright sunlight.  The colors were spectacular, with 1 or 2 swimmers (the water is rather cold.  It comes up from the aquifers, may 3-500 feet down).  It also has been rather cold here lately.
   During the summer, the entire swimming area is full of families.  A good part of the spring area is netted off.  There are native alligators and snakes that live in this ecco area.  In order to assure the people don't get eaten and the alligators can breed and raise families, the headwaters are divided so that both can live and thrive, side by side.
       While I was hiking, I was amazed at how much damage occurred last Sept. when Hurricane Irma came through.  The pile of tree rubbish, piled up with bulldozers, was over 7 acres (give or take a few) full and way over my head in height.  I will have  to go back and check out the trails.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.