Mrs Happy

By Riwaka7

Mono - Not Fake News not even Fantasy

Somehow between reading what the challenge was and writing it down, Fantasy became History and as I was indexing old newspapers on this wet day I thought I was in the box seat!! But I saw someone mention it was Fantasy and I was doomed.(What a load of hogwash, I hear you saying).

The story that caught my eye is from 1969 and shows a young John Wilson who has built a boat called Matangi. Little did John know it but circumstances and hard work have made John, his wife Lynette and his family  a tourist industry success. I have copied a paragraph from the Wilsons website Timeline which relays their story and provided the link as well as their official website in case you are visiting this area and want to make a booking.


"1977 - After the only boat available to take visitors to the National Park is wrecked in a storm, our family starts a commercial boat service along the Abel Tasman coast, using the Matangi, surveyed to operate as a commercial 18 - passenger vessel. We operate as Abel Tasman National Park Enterprises."

Here and here

The extra will give us food for thought as we tussle with the problem of plastic bags, rubbish ones in particular. Perhaps we need to go back to the past for the solution.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.