Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

Two Boos...

..babies I love you.

Reuben has taken to read his gift from Callum last Christmas, Fantastic Mr Fox, and one of my favourite childhood books. I was feeling he was bored with the big collection of M&S books and that there isn't a wide vocabularly within them to motivate him. I recall so clearly aged about 8 how the teacher would loom towards the end of the chapter and then firmly slam the book shut. Eagerly did we await the next day when the story would continue. Much like Downtown Abbey this Sunday right (no spoilers, please!).

Sitting in the car this morning he recites from memory, "Down in the valley there were three farms." It may have taken an hour, but he completed Chapter 3 this evening with a few prompts for a few new words. Reuben's pride and stubbornness gets the better of him time and again and I need more than patience to keep encouraging him, to get through. He also has an attention deficit so I sat him in the corner of a blank room and we faced the wall so that there were absolutely no distractions. Yet when in the flow, he absolutely loves to read, or else he would never have got to where he is today having not had an audible voice or spoken communication before the age of 3. And he was delighted to finish the third chapter. I can't envisage looking back to my 8 year old self that I could possibly have read it at the time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.