Pictures & Woodwork.

By PeterB

My First attempt.....Mini Project.

My picture on wood.     Watendlath Tarn. Lake District.
    
      I have been experimenting with putting photographs on wood. This is not perfect by any means but with some more practice, I should be able to get the pictures more perfect. 
     I have been doing quite a bit of research on this as it has been suggested by Mrs B that when I have honed my skills at it I will make some 'Place Mats' to grace the dining table when we have friends round for a meal, with my photographs on. 
     I have used the following method. Made 'mat' sized piece of wood (in this case Ash) trimmed the edges of it with a router, then sanded. 
It has only been sanded lightly as this shows up the grain and gives the picture a 'key' after applying a Clear Gloss gel. The photograph has been printed 'Flipped Horizontally' so when put on the gel and wood the picture comes out the right way round.
     Place centrally on the wood and squeeze out any air bubbles and leave to dry for 24hrs. 
     To reveal the picture, dampen with clean cold water and gently rub with your fingers, the back paper off and as you do the picture is slowly revealed. In this case I have torn out accidentally parts of the picture as I removed the backing paper with the gentle rubbing.

     The grain of the wood can be seen through the picture adding texture to it.

     As I say I have yet to find the right gauge of photo paper and may be another type off gloss gel. 
The extra shows another shot of it. 

Who said you could not combine Photography with Wood work!!!

I hope you all had a nice weekend, despite the non stop rain.

Stay warm and take care. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.