Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Snowdrop day

As it was a fairly shiny day I decided to go in search of snowdrops.  I read in the paper last week that at this time of year - if I'm remembering right - there used to be about 12 wildflowers out, but recently that figure has shot up to over 60.  Global warming presumably.  This made me think a trip up to Morn Hill might be worth it just to check if anything was happening.  Last summer the number and variety of wildflowers up there was extraordinary.  However, today there were zilch!

So on my way back I went into a small graveyard now being looked after by a local wildlife group - and of course there were snowdrops everywhere.  I know they're thought not to be native (Shakespeare never mentioned them) but I think we can count them as 'wild', don't you?

Okay, that's me.  Hope Monday's gone well for you  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.