Afternoon Nap

It was a time for celebration today with my mother's 91st birthday. I travelled to Suffolk to visit her, joined by my brother and his wife. We had a pleasant hour looking through old photos.
Observing the other residents at the care home, like this old lady, I do wonder at how we/society treat the very old. There is no value to them, they are cared for and fed but have they have no purpose, no skills or wisdom that they can pass on. Their knowledge and experience has no place in modern life - they don't understand our hi-tech world, can't use a computer or do their banking online..... they've seen it all before but we think we know it all.
Old age scares me. I wouldn't treat my dog like this.

On a happier note, it's mono Monday's 4th birthday which is a definite cause for celebration.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.