The Artist's Eye

By ArtistAnnie

Here comes the train...

I decided to take a walk today at Boulevard Park. You can walk from there to the Fairhaven District of Bellingham which I did. It was windy and cold so when I got to Fairhaven I went into Village Books and upstairs for a coffee and a piece of quiche. That warmed me up and by the time I walked back to my car it was sunnier and warmer. Along the way I saw lots of sea birds

When I got to Boulevard Park I walked all around the park. On the way I met a friend who was once president of the board of the Bellingham Festival of Music. We talked about this year's festival, the 25th anniversary. She and I had both lived in Bellingham long enough to have attended the very first one and every one after that. I don't know how many of us there are that have done that.

As I was starting to head home I heard the sound of a train coming toward the park. I knew I wouldn't be able to drive out once the train came as the road is crossed by the tracks. So I walked down on the beach and waited for the train to pass above me. The sound was earth shaking and I must admit I like the feeling of that. It was a very long train though and had both oil and coal cars along with other freight cars. Not so great. At least I noticed they had screens above the coal in the coal cars. Maybe that helps with the dust though I am not sure it really does.

I drove on home after the train passed and stopped at the Farmer's Coop to stock up on animal bedding. It is the unusable pellets that don't work in wood stoves. It's sold for horse stalls but I use it for cat litter. It works just great and is bio-degradable. This may be TMI (too much information) but there you have it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.