The Artist's Eye

By ArtistAnnie

Turtle Island Warrior

A good friend Sara Swink made this when we were taking the same class at the Creative Arts Community's Arts at Menucha a few years ago. Sara is a professional ceramic artist and this was the piece she made during the one week camp session we were taking. She called him the Turtle Island Warrior so that's what I call him. Did I mention that I had to buy this piece after she made it? I fell completely in love with him and now he stands in the niche by my front door guarding the house and looking very sober and perhaps a bit concerned. Perhaps I should call him the Turtle Island Worrier instead... 

The following year at Menucha I took the class Sara was teaching. She turned out to be just as fantastic a teacher as she was an artist. I had a great time in her class.

I was looking for a blip photo at the end of the day... again. (I really wish I'd do something earlier with purpose but today was another busy day with very few breaks.) Anyhow, this fellow deserves being on display regularly. I've taken his photo before. Anyhow....

Today was duplicate bridge at my house. I started setting up yesterday and was ready when folks started arriving around 11 am today. This is the first time I've hosted the group in my new house. My first task was figuring out where to put three bridge tables separate enough from each other. I ended up putting one in the living room, one in the guest bedroom and one in the entry hall. There just wasn't enough space in my bedroom.

Quite a few of the gang complimented me on my house. I was happy about that as I am very happy with the place and how it turned out with all my stuff in place. I played with a new sub named Dee and unfortunately for her was not really on my stride. The bad news is that we came in last. The good news is that we got our money back. And we enjoyed playing together. It is so funny how all over the map I am when we play. Last month my partner and I came in first. Go figure. But it really doesn't bother me when I lose. I enjoy playing and hanging out with the other folks in the group. Today neither of my brothers was here so there were subs for each of them. 

After the game ended I cleared and cleaned up while I listened to opera singing on Pandora. Strangely I really don't mind cleaning up after a party or a gathering. Somehow it extends the happy time even if I'm doing the washing up alone as I was tonight. Maybe it reminds me of the nights when Arvin and I cleaned up together after a party. Or maybe it's just the glow of friendship hanging on after the party is over. Either way it's a good feeling.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.