Pferdeschorschi

By schorschi

First Ever Holiday

My first holiday abroad ever!

Yes, I was born abroad and spent most of my life living abroad but this was the first "tourist" type holiday.
 
However, it wasn't my first trip to Thessaloniki or the Halkidi peninsular. I had actually spent about 6 weeks here in 1970 with my parents, my father working there for most of that year, based in Thessaloniki.

I was with my first girlfriend Annie. Both sets of parents did show slight concerns but no objections! Annie's Mum was the most trusting person you could wish for. She always let Annie do what she wanted even if doubts were expressed. And Annie always kept her word, to the letter. So if she said she would be home at midnight, she was home at midnight, without exception.

I came to learn that those who were strictly controlled by their parents were those who always broke the rules and caused the most grief.

We were staying at the Pallini Beach Hotel on the first or left finger of the Halkidiki Peninsula and quite near the top. Back then, Halkidiki was only a place to go at the weekend when one had lots of time - dirt tracks and it took hours to get out there. I think the Pallini beach was one of the first hotels ever to be built.

Even in 1974, the coach journey from Thessaloniki airport to the hotel was an adventure. We did, however, risk the trip once again for a days sightseeing in Thessaloniki and took in to account the miserable dusty bumpy drive.

Sadly I have no photos of the holiday, they were all destroyed. Here is a modern Youtube video of the hotel and it looks almost exactly the same.

In 1992 saw the hotel again when on a lovely "do Greece" holiday with Angie, staying for a full week at a place a few miles further south. Had a boat with me and would often pass the hotel to get to a secluded beach just around the headland.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.