Pferdeschorschi

By schorschi

Holiday

About 47 years after the event, I got the above photos of my first foreign holiday! I had lived almost all my life not in the UK but had never been on a so called "Holiday". They had all been mandatory school holidays sent to grandmother in Germany or accompanying my parents on their "leave" every two years to Europe.

With Annie, my first 'proper' girlfriend. I think I still dream about her appearance out of the waves in the white bikini like, Ursula Andress  playing Honey Rider in the 1962 James Bond film "Dr No". A few years later when she had ditched me - rightly - she married a submariner who became a film director and worked on the James Bond Film "The Spy who Loved Me".

Back then the Pallini Beach Hotel was probably the only hotel on the finger of the Halkidiki peninsular. In 1970, my father had been working in Thessaloniki for a year and I spent much of that summer's holiday in around Halkidiki. Then there wasn't a tarmacked route on the peninsular, nor the Pallini Beach Hotel. 

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.