Mindseye

By Mindseye

Heaps of history

I was determined to contribute to todays wide wednesday challenge, kindly hosted by Steveng just now. I tootled off to photograph this local historic landmark, to coincide with this weeks theme of History. Lancashire has a wealth of coal mining history, details of this this particular mine can be found here. Locals are trying desparately to save it from further disrepair.

https://astleygreenmuseum.files.wordpress.com/2017/04/astley-green-project-plan-pdf1.pdf

Our hot toddies last night did the trick up until 5am for me then I was awake, blocked and coughing, so I headed downstairs for a cup of tea. The wind was really howling and it was bouncing down with rain.

An hour or so later hub joined me, for another cuppa, we eventually headed back to bed around 7.30.........we woke again at 10!

The weather slowly improved, but we spent the morning indoors, had tomato soup and a ham and cheese toastie for lunch.

Despite us both feeling woolly headed we decided to venture into town as the sun was sunshining in a fairly clear blue sky....not had that for a good few days now! It was still very windy and we did feel a bit chilly, on reflection I think,hub,would,have preferred to stay home, but we made it there and back in just under an hour, with the few groceries we needed.

Hub has requested a curry for dinner this evening, hopefully the spice will help clear our heads a bit ;-)

I popped out in the car to get todays blip so that was another hour gone...... the museum wasnt open as I expected, but I managed to fit my lens through the wrought iron gate to get my shots.......this,is the best one I feel.

Then it was back home, I made us a coffee. Its now 5.15 and not quite dark :-)))) and we are watching Sleepless in Seattle.......love it!!

Think it might be an early night for us tonight!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.