Ursula Le Guin - may she rest in peace!

No sleep last night on account of gales  - slept late this morning. Last night was the time to put bins out  -  on going to collect them this morning I found them scattered all over the place. Neighbours must have been sleeping even later than me, so I spent quite a lot of time collecting theirs as well. As if that wasn’t catastrophe enough I learnt on MSN.com news that Ursula Le Guin had died on Monday aged 88.  I have a couple of bookshelves of her books so you can guess she is a favourite of mine  -  especially her science fiction. I wanted to read one of her books today and picked a thin one of hers that I have had on my shelf since 1984.  I know that because it was when I was living in Cromer and it was a Norfolk County Library Withdrawn book with the last withdrawal date in it and bought from a Charity Shop for 20p.  I’d never read it  -  probably I’d bought it because it is by her, but had no desire to read because it wasn’t her usual genre but a simple everyday love story. It is only 92 pages and took me three hours to read. I thought that, although it is supposed to be an everyday story, it was written like a science fiction writer trying to write about everyday life  -  even the title 'A Very Long Way from Anywhere Else' has a SciFi one about it. Then I wondered if I hadn’t known she was primarily a science fiction writer would I have had that thought.  When I’d finished reading it I noticed my favourite subject the Waxing Moon -  about 16.00  -  riding high  -  see my Extra.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.