But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Joppa Beach.

After taking Herself to her patchwork club, I took myself to the electrical shop to return two DVD players purchased for the cinema. The nice man who refunded my money assured me that they didn’t have a replacement that fitted my specification but, I wandered around the shop and found one that was several pounds cheaper than those returned and was suitable. The nice man that sold it to me said that they only come in occasionally, one at a time, and are sold immediately. It’s a strange way to run a business.
 
The next stop was the Joppa Riviera where I happily played around for an hour in the wind and rain testing the different filters I have for the IR camera; I even have one to turn it back into a visible light camera though I found that the light balance settings don’t work with it. Unsurprisingly, the common or garden 720 filter seems to consistently provide the most picturesque results so there would be a lot less faffing about if I’d had that built in. The down side of that would be that I’d always worry about whether I had made the right choice.
 
Bearing in mind the drab weather, I was quite pleased with this one looking into the wind and rain and towards a featureless sky. In the evening the “Critical Group,” as it is now known, met; we had eight members present, most of them novices. It is good that they are prepared to put their pictures up for scrutiny and they are quite capable of offering useful artistic advice and, although I don’t consider myself to be particularly skilled either with a camera or post processing, I am able to repay them with technical advice.
 
Be that as it may, I presented this as one of my offerings and it was well received; so it might be entered for the next competition.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.