Shadows

on the Temperance Hall :)

A sunny lunchtime walk after a horrendous morning from 8 til 12 (crazy busy) not even time to visit the toilet and my wrists are sore now!  

With my colleague off for the day  quadrupled the quantity of calls I took and emails I answered (over 100 enquiries).  I would have stayed late to complete all the work, but the apprentice told me not to and stood there to make sure I turned the computer off!  I think there will be trouble tomorrow :(


Anyway, the Temperance Hall is just a short walk from the office on the way into town.  It was the shadows that caught my eye :)

Circa 1859 Temperance Hall in Gothic style. A remodelling of 5 old cottages previously used by the Blue Coat Charity School. Two storeys. Gabled symmetrical front to road. Tiled roof with coped gables surmounted by tall iron wind vane. Red brick with freestone dressings. Arched openings with keystones and hoods; windows with glazing bars. Central doorway with fanlight and panelled door. Stone plaque over entrance inscribed 'Temperance Hall'. Four tablets at plinth level inscribed 'Wine is a mocker/Strong drink is raging/It stingeth like an adder/The drunkard shall come to poverty.'  (more here).


It was made into an arts centre until recent years, but is now used as a children's nursery...


I couldn'd decide which to blip?  See extra!


So glad to be home, but so exhausted I don't want to do anything tonight...must do something tomorrow or the washing machine may not be able to be fitted on Saturday!!

Apologies for lack of commenting...

I am extremely glad its Friday tomorrow!

Happy Thursday folks :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.