Bom

By Bom

Bricking up the Chimney

The builder came round today to remove the old fireplace and gas fire and brick up the chimney. I have a lounge and dining room which is only part separated by the chimney, the rest is open. Then there's a door, window and patio doors in the lounge, so in effect I only had one wall plus chimney. As I never use a fire, I've had it bricked up and will place the tv in front of it as that's the most practical arrangement. 

A mixed week - the positives were  the work today and the electrician replacing my down-lighters with safer LCD ones and replacing the consumer unit with one that meets current regs. The negatives - I finally got hold of the company doing my replacement roofline after over 3 months since signing the contract and they want more money to go ahead with the work as they claim their original measurements were incorrect. Last week at my dental check up I got referred to a dental surgeon to remove a wisdom tooth that was painful with pressure, but I was warned it might be a 3 month wait for the work. The first appointment for a consultation only is on 11th June!!! And I've still got no confirmation that the bathroom ordered in November will be fitted in May! Aaaaarrrrgggghhh!!!!

Be a Pretty Housewife (1957)

Tip No.11 If you've a lot of cooking to do, tie your head up in a turban sprinkled with Cologne or Lavender. This will prevent your hair collecting all the cooking smells. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.