a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Sailing to sadder shores

"All at sea again 
And now my hurricanes have brought down this ocean rain 
To bathe me again 
My ship's a sail 
Can you hear its tender frame 
Screaming from beneath the waves 
Screaming from beneath the waves 


All hands on deck at dawn 
Sailing to sadder shores 
Your port in my heavy storms 
Harbours the blackest thoughts"

Echo and the Bunnymen ~ Ocean Rain


I've always been partial to some Echo and the Bunnymen, despite the sense of misery and gloom that pervades the lyric of songs like this one.  I know that its not actually raining in this shot (although it was raining here yesterday and it will be again tomorrow).  But somehow, the sun having just set, the line about the port harbouring Mac's blackest thoughts seemed somehow appropriate.  

I've given you a link to their 1983 performance of the song on the Tube. Ocean Rain starts at 3:45 if you want to skip direct to it.  Mac's guitar has gone out of tune, deciding not to try to retune it he takes it off and just concentrates on singing instead. Mac's voice is at its peak - dark, deep and melancholy.  Wonderful stuff :-)
  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.