Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Before My Time #3

This morning I reduced a lady to tears in Sainsbury's just by calling out her name! I had finished my shopping and was leaving just as someone I knew was arriving and crossed my path. I called out to her and she turned but instead of greeting me with "Oh! Hi, how are you?"  She looked at me with a glazed expression. "Oh, dear!" I thought, "She doesn't remember me!"


I moved in close and her eyes welled up with tears, she said "I thought.........something had happened to you............I thought........." "That would be my sister-in-law" I said, "She died, Christmas before last." (Same surname, both in the jewellery trade.)


We talked for ages about old friends and she said "When you see L, tell her I was asking after her!" Within moments, I said "look who's here!" L appeared and we all exchanged phone numbers to arrange a proper meet-up. 


So, feeling glad to be alive, on with the blip!


I thought I'd start the new year off with, perhaps, a weekly item even older than me, that has meant something to me. If I subsequently part with any of these items, at least I will still have the image and the story.

#3 Carlton Ware Dish


Now this little dish used to have a spoon in the shape of a twig and leaf but I remember it got broken. I think it must be for serving a helping of jam on a tray. That is NOT what I use it for, go look in the fridge and see if I have any jam if that's what you want!


It used to belong to my Great Aunt and I inherited her house contents. It sits on my dressing table and acts as a receptacle for cotton wool balls as I remove my mascara. It doesn't match my bedroom decor but I love it and it serves a purpose. It's to keep!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.