Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Night Photography

First thing on the agenda today was meeting a student who we will, hopefully, mentor through her A-Level photography. A nice young lady with a keen interest in portraiture  This is just our field!.

The Man and I booked ourselves onto a Night Photography workshop. I'm a bit lazy about going out after dark and have only a handful of nighttime shots in all my years of blipping. So out we went.

It wasn't a clear night so no star shots. With an 82% moon waxing gibbous we wouldn't have got the best night shots, anyway. Our speaker, give him his due, had prepared an alternative plan. Painting with light!

Now painting with light is something I don't do often, just filling in a bit of light on a still life.

I had a very enjoyable evening but I found myself wanting to take charge. Like when he was going through the notes he gave us and when he got to the 500 Rule page said "Ignore that chart, I don't understand it myself!" Jeez! Then he went on to show us star shots that he admitted were showing a bit of movement.. Read up on the 500 Rule man!

Then there was the wazzock he allowed to do his own thing. You can see him doing his own thing ruining the shots the rest of us were taking. See his torch on the right hand lower third line. I complained loudly but nothing was done about him. When I discussed it with the tutor he told me I should have shouted to tell him to stop it! Grrr!

We did have a good time though, really! Just hope The Mate is progressing well, couldn't manage either of the visiting times today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.