Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Mawbray

I've wanted to got to this place since I first saw it on Blip. The thing is, that, from the road, the old posts the mussels gatherers used for farming the mussels are invisible, camouflaged among the stones, but when the tide is out, and you can get to them they make impressive blips.

I've not found any documentation that they were used for oysters in this area noted, even this century, for its mussel beds.

Anyhow, we were due to visit The Mate in hospital so this made an interesting detour but it was so cold and windy I couldn't stay taking shots, for more than a few minutes. We couldn't have got close as the tide wasn't far enough out so I was happy to make my way back to the car and get warmed up.

Had we chosen to go after our hospital visit we would have been treated to a glorious sunset. Meanwhile The Mate is improving,  but slowly. He enjoyed a chance to get off the ward with us for a sit outside with a cuppa. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.