Arachne

By Arachne

Back in the city

There is a general strike in Greece tomorrow so S and I had to get to our respective destinations before public transport stops running. Our ways parted at Larisa station and I have come north to Thessaloniki. I'm staying in beautiful Ano Poli, the old city with steep narrow streets on the side of the hill overlooking the port. I'm in a fantastic friendly hostel where I've stayed before, but this time I'm the only guest who isn't a delegate at the International World Music Expo. The discussion round the outside tables is of koras and rebetiko.  

I spent the late afternoon and early evening walking in the centre. This happened shortly after 6pm (worth viewing large). Thessaloniki is Greece's second city. Eat your heart out Birmingham.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.