Explore, Dream, Discover

By Snowcycle

Friday Bike Ride, Dalkeith and Gladhouse

As today is a special day, I take the day off work. I decide to go for a shortish bike ride in the morning. I set off quite late as I am expecting a parcel, and head out to Roslin Glen, then along the railway path from Rosewell down to Dalkeith. See extra of the old platform at Bonnyrigg. At Eskbank station, on the restored Borders railway, I realise the Moorfoot hills would have been a better prospect. As the weather is decent for January, and much better than the forecast for Sunday, extend my ride.

So I loop around Dalkeith as I'm on the wrong side of the A7. It better to go back up the railway path to Bonnyrigg than use the roads around Dalkeith and Bonnyrigg, which seem inordinately busy.

FromBonnyrigg, I head south along National Cycle Route 1 to Carrington and Castleton, before turning west to head for Gladhouse reservoir. The blip of the Moorfoot Hill is taken from the highest point on the ride, just before the descent to the reservoir.

A good point to ensure I have a wee bite to eat to head home along the reservoir road, to Mount Lothian and Penicuik. 65.2km, 40.5miles.

In the afternoon, I wait in for my parcel. However, twin 2 comes home from uni, so I go for a wee walk to stretch my legs, and get something for afternoon coffee. I've earned it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.